Heavy heart

The morning I heard of the earthquake and tsunami in Japan, I was immediately worried for friends in Hawaii. They are safe, thankfully. What, though, of those thousands of people who aren’t safe, who didn’t have the chance to make it? The entire story is hard to grasp, the magnitude of the disaster. It’s hard to grasp, because I have not seen this kind of disaster in person, only on TV or the internet. My friends and I were watching CNN, looking at the incredible footage. We wondered.. how do we help Japan recover from this? Haiti has not recovered, not even New Orleans is recovered completely. It’s devastating, but I am not even affected personally. It was not my family, my home, my entire life that was ripped up by the seams. I could not imagine.

In the midst of disaster, it is when we realize how blessed we are. I am so thankful for my life, my family, my friends, my opportunities.

My heart goes out to those in Japan. I wish I could do more to help, I wish I could restore everything to normal, sadly that is not how the world works. The little that I can do is offer a small donation.

If you would like to do the same, click here. Skip dessert, or that new wallet. Help a life.

My sister showed me this song, it fits. Sometimes, it is all we can do.

The original is here
Or this one was made with images from japan .. here

Leave a Reply

