Major Change

How am I supposed to know what I want to do with the rest of my life, right now. I don’t even know what I want to eat for dinner…

I am currently a Chemistry major, and I would like to switch to Spanish. This is a big leap, I know. Why the change? Well, I love Spanish and hate lab. However, since I think I am going pre-dental, I have to take some chem, biology, and physics courses anyway. So I may minor in Chemistry or look into a BA. Basically, I’m confused.

Can anyone tell me that it’s going to be okay, that I’ll find a job no matter what?

I hope so. I just don’t want to be at a point in my life down the road where I am doing something that makes me unhappy.

Anyone else feel as mixed up as I do about college?

3 Comments to “Major Change”

  1. I understand completely, I want to go into counseling but that means I’ll have to get my masters and frankly I don’t know if I can do it.
    And the what if I end up doing something I’m unhappy with?
    Totally there. I think that if you are already working towards Chemistry that switching to spanish will make a lot of credits count towards nothing. You should definitely talk to your counselor and do some major research, I didn’t have a clue that you would need a Chemistry major to go into pre-dental, considering you would need to go through a specialty school anyways. If you get a degree in a field with many options you will be able to find a job no matter what.
    And hey, plenty of people change their career later in life, so if you enjoy it for the time being don’t stress that you won’t like it later.
    Hope you figure some things out :]

  2. It’s so frustrating to have to figure everything out now. However, I changed to Spanish last week. I’m actually really excited. I am finally piecing it together, at least for now. I hope you get everything figured out too!

Leave a Reply

