For a friend..

Friendship. What does it mean to you?

I’ve come to realize that it doesn’t always mean the same thing to everyone. It doesn’t even mean the same thing to me now, as it used to. The more I grow, the more I value my friendships. College has opened my eyes to what it takes to keep friendships alive over distances and hardships. It isn’t just about playing at recess anymore, it’s deeper now. My best friends are there for me through thick and thin. I hope they know how much I appreciate that.

However, it is so easy to get caught up in everything, and then forget to tell those you love that you love them. That is my goal from now on, to not take those I love for granted, to show my appreciation for them. Today after long talks and dinner, I decided some characteristics that I want, or don’t want, to have within my friendships. Examples include not always doing what you want, but compromising. Also, to support those in what they love or are working hard for, show recognition and praise. Selfishness. This is one of the biggest things I have seen lately, not only in others but also myself. I am trying to delete this from my friendships, as it only hurts others and yourself in the long run. Forgiveness. This is the hardest as I have experienced, it’s so easy to hold on to the hurt, but true friends will forgive and grow from it.

Over the years, I have found my best friends. They are amazing and beautiful. I hope they know how lovely they are and how I wish the world for them. I suppose this post was just to clear up some of my feelings over things that have been circling my head. As we grow, things become more complicated, and in order to maintain those friendships, you have to put forth effort, not only when it is convenient for you.

2 Comments to “For a friend..”

  1. I love you. And always know that. Whenever you need it, I will be here. You got that?

  2. Second that.
    <3

Leave a Reply

